Banks, the NIS and the Central Bank hold two-thirds
Counting only Treasury bills and bonds, commercial banks were the largest holders in June 2026 with 33 percent. The National Insurance and Social Security Service (NIS) followed with 25 percent and the Central Bank with 8.5 percent. Insurers held 9.5 percent and pension funds 4 percent. The March 2026 picture is almost identical.
The remaining fifth is published only as "Other". It may include credit unions, mutual funds, finance companies, businesses and individuals, but the source does not say in what proportions, so this page does not guess.
Treasury bills plus bonds by published holder group, 30 June 2026 (estimate), share of the reported total of BBD 8,125.8m. Holder lines sum to 8,125.9m (rounding difference -0.1m). "Not shown" means the source has no separate bill line for that holder. Valuation basis not stated. Source: CBB Review of the Barbados Economy, January to June 2026, Appendix 6, p.38.
Show data table
| Holder | Bills | Bonds | Total, BBD m | Share of reported total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial banks | 768.4 | 1,919.5 | 2,687.9 | 33.1% |
| NIS | not shown | 2,004.9 | 2,004.9 | 24.7% |
| Other (unclassified) | 31.8 | 1,613.4 | 1,645.2 | 20.2% |
| Insurers | not shown | 771.3 | 771.3 | 9.5% |
| Central Bank | 207.2 | 484.0 | 691.2 | 8.5% |
| Pension funds | not shown | 325.4 | 325.4 | 4.0% |
| Holder lines | 8,125.9 | |||
| Reported total | 1,007.4 | 7,118.4 | 8,125.8 |
What exactly is being counted
Barbados' debt figures nest inside one another. The headline public-sector debt includes external borrowing; this page looks only at the domestic part, and the holder chart above uses only its securities.
BBD, 30 June 2026 (estimates). Each total contains the next; they are not additive. Source: CBB Review of the Barbados Economy, January to June 2026, Appendix 6, p.38.
| Domestic debt by instrument, June 2026 | BBD m | Held by |
|---|---|---|
| Treasury bills | 1,007.4 | Banks, Central Bank, Other |
| Bonds | 7,118.4 | All published groups |
| Short-term loans | 84.7 | Central Bank |
| Long-term loans and tax certificates | 733.2 | Banks and Other |
| Arrears | 170.8 | Not allocated |
| Domestic total | 9,114.5 |
Where BOSS+ bonds, Savings Bonds and Treasury notes sit within these lines is not stated in the source. Restructured 2018 bonds were most of the bond line in March 2024 (Medium Term Debt Management Strategy 2024/25, Table 1).
2018 shrank the state's own share
In 2018 Barbados restructured nearly all of its domestic debt. The losses fell hardest on public holders. Between December 2017 and December 2018 the Central Bank's claims fell from BBD 2.23 billion to 0.70 billion, and the NIS's from 3.52 billion to 2.94 billion. Banks and insurers kept their face value but accepted lower interest and longer maturities.
Since then the NIS has continued to shrink as a holder, to BBD 2.0 billion by June 2026, while banks have grown, to BBD 3.4 billion including loans.
BBD millions, all domestic claims including loans. December 2015: CBB Review of the Barbados Economy in 2019, Table 6, p.19. December 2016 to 2020: Review of the Barbados Economy in 2020, Table 6, p.24. March 2021 to June 2026: Review of the Barbados Economy, January to June 2026, Appendix 6, p.38. Listed holders are not exhaustive: the data table shows the remainder (public-private partnership claims in 2015 to 2017, arrears and rounding later). The dashed line marks that change of source; the shaded band marks the 2018 exchange. Before 2021 pension funds are not shown separately. The insurer line rises in 2018 and falls in 2019; the 2019 fall partly reflects a reclassification to Other between report editions, not a sale, and the 2018 rise has not been explained. Points are not evenly spaced in time. Valuation basis not stated.
Show data table
| Date | Central Bank | Commercial banks | NIS | Insurers | Pension funds | Other | Listed holders | Domestic total | Remainder | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dec 2015 | 1,303.6 | 2,070.0 | 3,152.7 | 514.6 | not shown | 2,006.1 | 9,047.0 | 9,319.8 | 272.8 | Review 2019, Table 6, p.19 |
| Dec 2016 | 2,012.4 | 2,030.9 | 3,481.0 | 522.3 | not shown | 2,207.8 | 10,254.4 | 10,511.2 | 256.8 | Review 2020, Table 6, p.24 |
| Dec 2017 | 2,227.7 | 2,144.9 | 3,518.9 | 527.2 | not shown | 2,179.7 | 10,598.4 | 10,840.1 | 241.7 | Review 2020, Table 6, p.24 |
| Dec 2018 | 703.8 | 2,340.2 | 2,938.4 | 1,114.6 | not shown | 2,150.3 | 9,247.3 | 9,247.4 | 0.1 | Review 2020, Table 6, p.24 |
| Dec 2019 | 814.1 | 2,355.2 | 2,880.0 | 807.5 | not shown | 2,312.9 | 9,169.7 | 9,336.6 | 166.9 | Review 2020, Table 6, p.24 |
| Dec 2020 | 757.0 | 2,340.4 | 2,690.6 | 816.1 | not shown | 2,141.3 | 8,745.4 | 8,786.4 | 41.0 | Review 2020, Table 6, p.24 |
| Mar 2021 | 834.6 | 2,335.3 | 2,650.2 | 815.8 | 311.7 | 1,845.6 | 8,793.2 | 8,872.7 | 79.5 | Review Jan to Jun 2026, App. 6, p.38 |
| Mar 2022 | 866.6 | 2,343.4 | 2,665.4 | 815.1 | 321.9 | 1,789.0 | 8,801.4 | 8,824.1 | 22.7 | Review Jan to Jun 2026, App. 6, p.38 |
| Mar 2023 | 1,001.2 | 2,465.8 | 2,605.2 | 810.6 | 317.1 | 1,660.5 | 8,860.4 | 9,117.9 | 257.5 | Review Jan to Jun 2026, App. 6, p.38 |
| Mar 2024 | 989.2 | 2,640.9 | 2,521.9 | 782.1 | 315.3 | 1,767.1 | 9,016.5 | 9,250.0 | 233.5 | Review Jan to Jun 2026, App. 6, p.38 |
| Mar 2025 | 924.8 | 3,246.2 | 2,082.8 | 765.0 | 324.3 | 1,606.9 | 8,950.0 | 9,134.8 | 184.8 | Review Jan to Jun 2026, App. 6, p.38 |
| Jun 2025 | 776.5 | 3,204.1 | 2,077.3 | 759.6 | 322.5 | 1,593.3 | 8,733.3 | 8,914.8 | 181.5 | Review Jan to Jun 2026, App. 6, p.38 |
| Mar 2026 | 931.1 | 3,390.1 | 2,002.1 | 770.8 | 326.5 | 1,661.9 | 9,082.5 | 9,260.4 | 177.9 | Review Jan to Jun 2026, App. 6, p.38 |
| Jun 2026 | 775.9 | 3,421.0 | 2,004.9 | 771.3 | 325.4 | 1,645.3 | 8,943.8 | 9,114.5 | 170.7 | Review Jan to Jun 2026, App. 6, p.38 |
| Remainder: public-private partnership claims (272.9m, 256.8m and 241.8m in December 2015 to 2017), arrears shown separately in later editions, and rounding. It is not a holder. | ||||||||||
Three snapshots with different scopes
| BBD m | Dec 2008 | Oct 2018, before exchange | Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Central Bank | --† | 2,640.7 | 775.9 |
| Commercial banks | 1,161.4* | 2,205.8 | 3,421.0 |
| Trust companies | in banks* | 296.8 | not shown |
| NIS | 1,544.6** | 3,624.3 | 2,004.9 |
| Insurers | 360.2 | 523.2 | 771.3 |
| Pension funds | not shown | 609.8 | 325.4 |
| Credit unions | not shown | 130.9 | not shown |
| Other | 534.8*** | 1,525.4 | 1,645.3 |
| Bills with no published holder | 186.7‡ | ||
| Arrears, no holder | 170.8 | ||
| Savings Bonds | 96.4 | not shown | not shown |
| Total | 3,884.2 | 11,557.0 | 9,114.5 |
December 2008: Treasury bills, debentures and Savings Bonds at nominal value (CBB Economic and Financial Statistics, February 2009, Tables F2 and F3, pp.61 to 62). *Banks and trust companies combined. **Debentures only; NIS bill holdings not identified. ***Other debenture holders only. †"--" is the source symbol for nil or less than half the final digit shown (BBD thousands). ‡Bills outstanding exceed allocated holdings by this amount; the source does not explain it, and it is not assigned to any holder. "Not shown" means the source has no separate line. October 2018: unrestructured claims at nominal value, including state-enterprise debt and Central Bank advances (IMF Working Paper 20/34, Table 2, p.17). June 2026: as in the hero chart; published arrears 170.8m, so the column sums to 9,114.6m against 9,114.5m reported (rounding). Compare direction, not exact levels.
The banks: bonds, bills and now loans
Before 2018 banks held mostly 3- and 6-month Treasury bills. The exchange turned 85 percent of those bills into 15-year amortising bonds; the rest became 90-day bills that banks agreed to keep rolling over under the restructuring terms.
Today banks lend to the government in two ways: by holding its securities and by lending to it directly. The loan line grew sharply between March 2024 and March 2025.
| Commercial banks, BBD m | Mar 2026 | Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Treasury bills plus bonds | 2,657.0 | 2,687.9 |
| Long-term loans and tax certificates | 733.1 | 733.1 |
| Total claims on the government | 3,390.1 | 3,421.0 |
Source: CBB Review of the Barbados Economy, January to June 2026, Appendix 6, p.38. The March 2026 bank total is corroborated within rounding by IMF Country Report 26/155, Annex II Table 2, p.57 (BBD 3,390.2m), which draws on the same Ministry of Finance data.
The 2024 debt-for-climate conversion. In late November or early December 2024 Barbados closed a debt-for-climate conversion. A regional bank lent the government Barbados dollars, guaranteed by multilateral lenders, and the proceeds repurchased higher-interest government bonds. The IMF had described planned purchases from the NIS and private holders. Over the year to March 2025 the NIS's bond holdings fell by BBD 439m while banks' loan line rose by BBD 593m. The pattern fits the conversion, but the published sources reviewed do not show how much of each change it accounts for.
| Change, March 2024 to March 2025 | BBD m |
|---|---|
| NIS bonds | −439.1 |
| Bank Treasury bills plus bonds | +12.6 |
| Bank long-term loans and tax certificates | +592.7 |
| Bank total claims | +605.3 |
Sources: CBB Review of the Barbados Economy, Appendix 6; IMF Country Report 24/368, Box 4, p.26, and Staff Representative statement, 18 December 2024; CIBC Caribbean release, 2 December 2024.
A different measure: banks' net credit to government, December each year, BBD. Net of government deposits held at banks, so it is not the same as the gross claims above. Source: Financial Stability Report 2025, Figure 19; values from the data published with the report's chart pack, one decimal. The report text confirms 20.7 percent of bank assets in 2025 and a restated 21.8 percent in 2024.
Show data table
| December | Net credit, BBD m | Share of bank assets |
|---|---|---|
| 2015 | 2,186.7 | 17.1% |
| 2016 | 2,063.6 | 15.5% |
| 2017 | 2,164.5 | 16.1% |
| 2018 | 1,896.4 | 14.9% |
| 2019 | 1,886.7 | 14.6% |
| 2020 | 2,056.5 | 15.5% |
| 2021 | 2,100.1 | 15.2% |
| 2022 | 2,249.8 | 15.6% |
| 2023 | 2,418.0 | 16.4% |
| 2024 | 3,194.9 | 21.8% |
| 2025 | 3,353.9 | 20.7% |
Whose savings? Above all, the NIS contribution base
The NIS invests the contributions of every insured worker, so its holdings are the clearest route by which ordinary Barbadians' savings reach the state. Before the 2018 exchange, the funds it manages held BBD 3.90 billion of public-sector paper: 3.67 billion of central-government bills, notes and debentures and 0.23 billion of state-enterprise claims. After the exchange they held BBD 2.91 billion of new bonds.
BBD 469 million of those new bonds were issued to settle money the government already owed the NIS: unpaid contributions, non-contributory pension payments and rent. Some NIS holdings therefore arose from settling existing obligations rather than from fresh cash investment. The review reports a BBD 1.46 billion reduction in face value after recognising those arrears. In December 2020, 68 percent of the National Insurance Fund was in government bonds, and fixed income overall was 72 percent of the fund against an investment-policy target of 57.5 percent.
BBD, all NIS-managed funds (National Insurance, Severance and Unemployment), 1 October 2018. "Bonds received in exchange" is the reported total less the arrears bonds. The review notes rounding, and its fund perimeter differs from the current holder table. Source: NIS 17th Actuarial Review, Table 1.2, p.8.
Show data table
| NIS-managed funds, 1 October 2018 | BBD m |
|---|---|
| Before: central-government bills | 150 |
| Before: central-government notes and debentures | 3,518 |
| Before: state-enterprise loans and bonds | 229 |
| Before: total | 3,897 |
| After: bonds received in exchange (derived) | 2,440 |
| After: bonds issued to settle government arrears | 469 |
| After: total | 2,909 |
Household ownership: a gap in the published sources
A common view in Barbados is that government bonds were once a prized household investment, especially for older savers. The published sources reviewed do not establish how much individuals hold today, or their ages. This project deliberately uses published sources only and has not requested registry data from the Central Bank, so the household share is reported here as unknown rather than estimated.
What the published fragments show, each with a different scope:
Each figure has its own date and scope and they cannot be combined into one allocation. Sources: CBB release, 29 June 2023 (22m); CBB release, 5 April 2023 (100m); CBB Annual Report 2025, p.29 (33.3m); Medium Term Debt Management Strategy 2023/24, paragraph 21, pp.10 to 11 (Series B).
These figures cannot be added or compared as a trend. BOSS+ is open to businesses, churches and institutions, so it is not household debt. Savings Bonds, the older retail instrument, stood at BBD 96m in December 2008; by 2024 Savings Bonds and tax certificates together were BBD 22m. That shows the instrument shrinking, not a fall in household lending overall.
Other debt managers publish this. Jamaica's budget memoranda have reported an "Individuals" line for holdings of government registered securities, for example in March 2010 and March 2011.
How much of this lending is a choice?
A rule that no longer applies. Banks were once required to hold government securities equal to a share of their deposits. The requirement was raised to 20 percent in January 2018, cut to 17.5 percent in November 2018 and to 5 percent from 1 April 2020, and then discontinued under the Central Bank Act adopted in December 2020.
An agreement that still does. Some restructured short-term debt continues to roll over under the 2018 restructuring terms, separately from that abolished rule.
Debts turned into bonds. At least BBD 469 million of NIS holdings originated as unpaid government obligations.
Aggregate holdings alone do not show how much of the remaining demand is discretionary. In 2026 the IMF suggested that the Central Bank consider raising its cash reserve requirement to absorb banks' excess liquidity, a separate instrument from the former securities rule. The government saw no need.
Method and sources
Every figure comes from a published official report. Figures from the Central Bank's downloadable statistical database are not reproduced, in line with its terms of use. Where sources disagree, both are reported and the difference explained.
Known conflicts and limits
Bank holdings: three measures
Report editions revise history
Pension funds and insurers before 2018
Ministry of Finance pie charts
What this page does not claim
Download the data
The public data package has 364 source observations from 25 cited publications as CSV and JSON, with a data dictionary, the holder snapshots and denominators, instrument coverage, the policy timeline, reference charts and the scripts that rebuild them. It uses published reports only: no Central Bank statistical-database extracts, report pages or table images.
Sources
- CBB Review of the Barbados Economy, January to June 2026, Appendix 6, p.38; Review of the Barbados Economy in 2020, Table 6, p.24; Review of the Barbados Economy in 2019, Table 6, p.19.
- IMF Country Report 26/155, Annex II Table 2, p.57; IMF Country Report 24/368, Box 4, p.26.
- IMF Working Paper 20/34, Table 2, p.17 and p.18.
- NIS 17th Actuarial Review, Tables 1.2 and 1.7.
- CBB Economic and Financial Statistics, February 2009, Tables F2 and F3.
- CBB Annual Report 2025, p.29; CBB BOSS+ release, 29 June 2023; CBB release, 5 April 2023.
- Financial Stability Report 2025, Figure 19; Financial Stability Report 2017, Technical Note 6.5.
- Securities requirement: CBB release, 30 March 2020; IMF Country Report 19/370, MEFP paragraph 28, p.85; IMF Country Report 22/176, p.10, footnote 3.
- CIBC Caribbean release on the debt-for-climate conversion, 2 December 2024.
- Medium Term Debt Management Strategy 2023/24, paragraph 21, and 2024/25.
- Jamaica Budget Memorandum 2011/12, p.46.